The Zero Emissions Vehicle (ZEV) mandate is set to come into force on 1 January 2024 after a vote held in Parliament on Monday.

The vote, held in the evening of Monday 4 December, saw 369 MPs vote in favour whilst 36 MPs voted against, including 26 Conservative MPs.

The ZEV mandate will enforce a legal requirement for car manufactures to meet targets for new EV sales in the UK. This means that in 2024, 22% of cars sold by each manufacturer must be fully electric, with the percentage increasing each year. For instance, in 2025, this will rise to 28% and will keep rising until 2035 to 100% of cars (under current legislation). If manufacturers do not meet these targets then they may be subject to fines amounting to £15,000 per car.

If you would like to check a list of the MPs who voted on the ZEV mandate then please refer to this link.